top of page

Recitals

Hi readers! I'm back and better than ever to start writing more! I will try to post at least three times each week for all of July and August. School and dance classes just ended, so I have a lot of content to share now! Just last month, I had my dance recital, and I will be sharing a lot on that for these first few posts.

Speaking of recitals, I'd like to share a bit on that. Being on stage is always my favorite part of recitals. I love the entire experience- warming up in the dressing room, helping my friends with makeup, and cheering on my friends from the wings- but something about performing is always my favorite part. Maybe it's the rush of nerves when I step out on stage, or maybe it's the adrenaline I feel afterwards. The whole experience, however, of doing what I love for a full house is the best. Knowing my friends and family are somewhere in the dark sea of people is reassuring and a bit calming.

Another thing I like about recitals is that all of the hard work put into dances is showcased. Dancers put their hearts into every move, so being able to show that off on a stage is pretty cool. After the blood, sweat, and tears of rehearsals, it's always a good feeling when you can enjoy yourself on stage. Not to mention the immense relief you get once the performance comes to an end. That final breath you take before the curtain closes is probably the best. "I did it," you think, "It's over."

As much as a love performing, when the dances are done, I always feel bittersweet. On one hand, I love doing them. On the the other hand, I'm doing the dances for the last time possibly ever. After this, the season ends and I have to wait until September. Despite that, I must say, recital season is my favorite season.

This is my solo picture for my ballet dance Stay.

Tags:

bottom of page